National Inter-School Netball Championships 2014

Team MGS finally won the B Division title in the National Inter-Schools Netball Championships 2014 which took place at the Yio Chu Kang Sports Hall on Monday 21 April.

In what their coach described as a “goal-for-goal match” against the defending Champion, CHIJ (Toa Payoh), Team MGS had only five minutes to overcome the opposition.

At half-time, the score was 14-14, and with five minutes left to the end of the game, there was still a deadlock at 25-25. In those final minutes the Goal Attack, Amanda Lim (Sec 4E) and Goal Shooter, Claire Seah (Sec 4E) who capitalized on her height (She stands tall at 1.8m!), scored 6 goals between them. The final score was 31-27 in favour of Team MGS.

Claire and Amanda affirmed that they “are honoured to be part of Team MGS”, and “so proud” that they have made their mark in the netball fraternity.


Classroom Experience
MGS IP/DSA Briefing

Kwa Geok Choo Auditorium, Level 1
Preview on 16 May, Friday, 3 pm (for MGS P6 girls)
17 May, Saturday, 8.30 am and 11.30am

URLs for the registration forms:
Preview (for MGS P6 girls only) | Actual Day


Singapore Women's Hall of Fame

On Friday 14 March, the Singapore Council of Women’s Organisations (SCWO) commemorated International Women’s Day (IWD), and at the same time launched the Singapore Women's Hall of Fame. The President, Dr Tony Tan Keng Yam was the Guest of Honour for the event which took place at the Tower Ballroom, Shangri-La Hotel.

The Singapore Women’s Hall of Fame celebrates the many women who have contributed in no small way to the development and progress of Singapore; they will no doubt inspire succeeding generations of women to realize their dreams and achieve even more for the good of the nation.

At the inauguration ceremony of the Singapore Women’s Hall of Fame several MGS women of excellence were honoured for their achievements; all are MGS alumnae, except for Miss Sophia Blackmore who was the founder of MGS and Mrs Ann Elizabeth Wee who was a former teacher at MGS. The women of excellence include:

Sophia Blackmore and Ruth Wong Hie King (Education)
Kwa Geok Choo and Jenny Lau Buong Bee (Law),
Constance Goh and Phyllis Eu Cheng Li (Advocacy & Activism)
Daisy Vaithilingam and Ann Elizabeth Wee (Community / Social Work)
Fang Ai Lian (Business & Enterprise)
Lynette Seah (Arts/Culture/Entertainment)
Geh Min (Environment)
Patricia Chan and Joscelin Yeo (Sports)
Khoo Teh Lynn (Uniformed Professions)

Designed by Bluerainstudios + Powered by Fragnetics. | All rights reserved. This website is driven by APT Pro.